Follow Us

Djokovic and Serena, to defend their title in Miami

The Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic and the American Serena Williams, first in the world rankings and defending champions, advanced to the finals of the Miami Open, in which they will face, respectively, the American John Isner and the Spanish Carla Suárez.

In the women’s division, in the Premier category, Serena advanced after beating the Romanian Simona Halep in a close game 6-2, 4-6, 7-5. In the final, she will face the Spanish Suárez Navarro (N.12), who beat the German Andrea Petkovic (N.9) with a double 6-3 in the first hour.

Williams, who started out winning widely, was outclassed in the second set but then remembered her role as favorite and defending champion and made it easy for her to win the European Championship, leaving her practically without offensive resources to win the third 7-5.

You can also read:  The Miami final between Federer and Nadal achieved a new attendance record

In the semi-fund match, the Serbian Djokovic beat the Spanish David Ferrer, sixth seed, in the quarterfinals and advanced to the semifinals of the Masters 1000 event.

Djokovic, first favorite, beat the Iberian with a pair of 7-5 and will face the American Isner (N.22) in the semifinals, who earlier beat the Japanese Kei Nishikori (N.4) with straight sets of 6-4 and 6-3.

Serbian Djokovic trailed 4-1 in the first set and picked up his pace and adjusted his serve to finally take the set 7-5.

‘Nole’ has lost his first set in the last two games, which shows that he has been warming up as the match progresses.

You can also read:  Roger Federer will not retire after the Rio 2016 Games

If he won the trophy again in the Capital of the Sun, ‘Nole’ would become the first player to win the Masters 1000 in Indian Wells and Miami on three different occasions (he previously won it in 2011 and 2014).

Seven players have managed to win these tournaments in the same year since 1991 when the American Jim Curier did it for the first time. So did his compatriots Micahel Chang (1992) and Pete Sampras (1994) and Andrea Agassi (2001), the Chilean Marcelo Ríos (1998) and the Swiss Roger Federer (2005 and 2006).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

− 1 = 7