Follow Us

German Abt prevails in Mexico City and Brazilian Piquet caresses the podium

German Abt prevails in Mexico City and Brazilian Piquet caresses the podium

The German Daniel Abt (Audi Sport ABT), sixth in the Formula E classification, won this Saturday in the ePrix in Mexico City, fifth round of the 2017-18 campaign of the electric car competition, in which Brazilian Nelson Piquet (Panasonic Jaguar Racing) finished fourth.
Abt, who started from sixth place, was the best after 47 laps of the 2,093-meter circuit at the Hermanos Rodríguez racetrack, followed by the British Oliver Turvey (NIO Formula E) and the Swiss Sébastien Buemi (Renault e.dams), at 6,398 and 6,615 seconds, respectively.
Piquet started eighth and stayed on the doorstep of the podium when he finished fourth, 7.015 seconds behind the winner, while Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne, serial leader, got into fifth place, 7.546 seconds, behind Abt.
The other Brazilian Lucas Di Grassi (ABT Audi Sport) finished ninth and the Argentine José María López (Dragon Racing) was twelfth.
Meanwhile, the Swede Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing), who hours earlier took pole position, suffered a technical failure and was listed as one of the three drivers who did not finish the test.
Following the Mexico race, Formula E will complete its sixth stop of the 2017-18 season on March 17 in Punta del Este, Uruguay.
– Mexico City ePrix results, top 10
.one. Daniel Abt (GER / Audi Sport ABT)
.two. Oliver Turvey (GBR / NIO Formula E) at 6.398 seconds
.3. Sébastien Buemi (SUI / Renault e.dams) at 6,615
.4. Nelson Piquet Jr. (BRA / Jaguar Racing) at 7,015
.5. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA / Techeetah) at 7,546
.6. Mitch Evans (NZL / Jaguar Racing) at 9,050
.7. Antonio Félix da Costa (POR / Andretti) to 17,157
.8. Edoardo Mortara (SUI / Venturi Team) at 26,511
.9. Lucas di Grassi (ABT Audi Sport) at 29,208
10. Alex Lynn (GBR / DS Virgin Racing) to 29,515

You can also read:  Ron Dennis announces leaving McLaren after 35 years at the helm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 1 = 1