Follow Us

Hamilton achieves pole in the United States GP

Hamilton achieves pole in the United States GP

British Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) will start from pole in the United States Grand Prix after signing the best time this Saturday, while his rival for the title, German Sebastian Vettel, will do so from fifth after being second but suffering a penalty of three positions on Friday.

Hamilton needs to add eight more points than the German to be crowned Formula 1 world champion for the fifth time, this Sunday at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

The Englishman stopped the clock in 1 minute 32 seconds 237 thousandths, finishing ahead of Vettel (1: 32.298) and the Finn also of Ferrari Kimi Raikkonen (1: 32.307). His compatriot Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) was fourth (1: 32.616).

You can also read:  A photographer is killed during a rally in Corsica

With four races remaining in the competition, Hamilton leads Vettel by 67 points and could match Argentine Juan Manuel Fangio in Austin as the second most decorated driver of all time, with five titles. The German Michael Schumacher would already be the only one ahead, with seven. AFP

– Starting grid of the Formula 1 United States Grand Prix:

– First line:

Lewis Hamilton (GBR / Mercedes)

Kimi Räikkönen (FIN / Ferrari)

– Second line:

Valtteri Bottas (FIN / Mercedes)

Daniel Ricciardo (AUS / Red Bull-TAG Heuer)

– Third line:

Sebastian Vettel (GER / Ferrari)

Esteban Ocon (FRA / Force India-Mercedes)

– Fourth line:

Nico Hülkenberg (GER / Renault)

You can also read:  The FIA ​​approves a new qualification system for this year

Romain Grosjean (FRA / Haas-Ferrari)

– Fifth line:

Charles Leclerc (MON / Sauber-Ferrari)

Sergio Pérez (MEX / Force India-Mercedes)

– Sixth line:

Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP / Renault)

Kevin Magnussen (DEN / Haas-Ferrari)

– Seventh line:

Max Verstappen (NED / Red Bull-TAG Heuer)

Fernando Alonso (ESP / McLaren-Renault)

– Eighth line:

Sergey Sirotkin (RUS / Williams-Mercedes)

Lance Stroll (CAN / Williams-Mercedes)

– Ninth line:

Marcus Ericsson (SWE / Sauber-Ferrari)

Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL / McLaren-Renault)

– Tenth line:

Pierre Gasly (FRA / Toro Rosso-Honda)

Brendon Hartley (NZL / Toro Rosso-Honda)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

42 − 34 =