Follow Us

Helio Castroneves leads generation 2022 to Hall of Fame

Helio Castroneves leads generation 2022 to Hall of Fame

Helio Castroneves tied the record of four Indianapolis 500 victories in May.

The rewards for your feat keep coming.

When the popular 46-year-old Brazilian returned to Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Thursday, track judges presented a bronze brick with his name on it, and on Friday he was named the star of a list of nine new members of the United States Hall of Fame from Los Angeles. motorsports by 2022.

“The motivation has always been there,” Castroneves said. “It’s not about the title. I never lost faith. I wouldn’t put the helmet on if I didn’t think I had a chance to succeed. For me, that’s what keeps me right there on the edge and the competition in the IndyCar Series is so competitive that if you sneeze you lose by a tenth of a second. “

You can also read:  Hamilton: "I still have seven years left in Formula One"

Castroneves, the single-seater selection, will be joined by NASCAR owner Jack Roush, Sports Car Pete Brock, Acceleration Racing Dick LaHaie, NASCAR Co-Founder Raymond Parks and NASCAR Builder Banjo Matthews Denise McCluggage in the category of media, while motorcycle innovators Trey Vance and Byron Hines will appear as a single selection.

Roush was the mastermind of more than 300 Cup Series victories. Brock designed the 1965 world champion Cobra Daytona closed car. LaHaie is the only person to win NHRA Top Fuel titles as both driver and crew chief.

The 1st and final election will be announced later this month.

Florida-based Hall of Fame President George Levy explained that half of the 200 ballots come from journalists and historians and the other half is for Hall of Famers. He added that votes for this year were cast before Castroneves became the first foreign-born driver to win four editions of the Indianapolis 500.

You can also read:  Schumacher, cared for by some of the best neurosurgeons in the world

With a record of six CART victories and 25 IndyCar victories for a total of 31, Castroneves is tied with Paul Tracy and three-time Indy winner Dario Franchitti of Britain for 10th all-time. His 47 career poles are also among the all-time leaders. (AP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 1 = 2