Follow Us

LeBron James and James Harden headline NBA First Team

LeBron James and James Harden headline NBA First Team

Forward LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers tied another mark as he was elected to the NBA First Team for the eleventh time, while guard James Harden of the Houston Rockets was the most voted and unanimously chosen. .
Along with James, who tied the record set by former players, power forward Karl Malone and guard Kobe Bryant, guard Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder also made the First Team; forward Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs; and center Anthony Davis of the New Orleans Pelicans.
The five players were considered the best during the regular season with the right to be part of the Ideal Team, while Westbrook, who along with Harden are the highest contenders for the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in the league, received 99 out of 100 possible votes.
James, who did not receive unanimous support, something that has been criticized, next season will have a chance to break a new NBA record.
Harden was inducted into the First Team for the third time, while Westbrook, Leonard and Davis were selected for the second time as professionals.
Base Stephen Curry and forward Kevin Durant of the Golden State Warriors, Greek forward Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks, point guard Isaiah Thomas of the Boston Celtics and French center Rudy Gobert of the Jazz of Utah formed the Second Team.
Gobert had a close fight in the voting with Davis for the Ideal Team that the Pelicans player did after finally getting 343 votes to 339 from the French international.
The Third Team was formed by forward Jimmy Butler, of the Chicago Bulls; power forward Draymond Green of the Golden State Warriors; guard DeMar DeRozan of the Toronto Raptors; guard John Wall of the Washington Wizards and center DeAndre Jordan of the Los Angeles Clippers.
Harden and Wall, upon being included in the top three teams in the NBA, are eligible to enter the free agent market in 2019 and receive a four-year contract with their current teams for $ 160 million, according to the new collective agreement. .
The big losers in the voting were players like forwards Paul George, of the Indiana Pacers, and Gordon Hayward, of the Jazz, who by not being part of any of the three teams will not be able to receive this summer the maximum contracts that would allow them. the new collective agreement of 210 million dollars for five years.
In this way, both players will have to wait until next season to see if they get it or sign with other teams, but for $ 75 million less.
While the Spanish center Marc Gasol, who was decisive in the arrival of the Memphis Grizzlies to play the Playoffs, was also another of the losers after the excellent season he had and that allowed him to reach the All-Star Party for the third time in his career.

You can also read:  Hawks deflate and Sixers tie East semi-final series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + 1 =