Follow Us

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) rallies to win the Austrian GP

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) rallies to win the Austrian GP

Dutchman Max Verstappen achieved victory in the Austrian Formula 1 Grand Prix after a poor start and a brilliant comeback, although his victory had to be confirmed later by the race stewards.

Verstappen’s maneuver to overtake Monegasque poleman Charles Leclerc (Ferrari), two laps to go, was investigated by the stewards, who judged that the Dutchman had not pushed the Italian Scuderia driver and decided not to penalize him.

“At the exit of the curve, there was a contact between the two cars. Taking into account the set of circumstances, we do not consider that one of the two pilots was fully or predominantly responsible (for that incident). We consider it to be a racing incident, “they noted.

Just 2 seconds and 724 thousandths separated both drivers. Therefore, a 5-second penalty would have deprived the Red Bull driver of his first victory of the season and the sixth of his career, achieved in his team’s country and in front of more than 20,000 orange-clad fans.

You can also read:  Alonso: "There have been real signs of progress"

Second on the starting grid alongside Leclerc, Verstappen had a poor start and fell to seventh after the first lap.

The Dutchman was coming back thanks to a later pit pass than his opponents, which allowed him to have less worn tires at the end of the race.

Finn Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) completed the podium. Third both on the starting grid and at the end, Bottas had to slow down in the final kilometers to preserve his overheated engine.

Even so, he was better than his teammate and current champion, Lewis Hamilton, fifth in the race but leader of the World Cup with an advantage of 31 points over Bottas and 71 over Verstappen, who overtakes German Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari).

– Classification of the Austrian Grand Prix, ninth round of the Formula 1 World Championship, at the Red Bull Ring circuit (4,318 km), in Spielberg:

1. Max Verstappen (NED / Red Bull-Honda) the 306,452 km in 1h22: 01.822

You can also read:  F1 drivers weigh kneeling at start of season

2. Charles Leclerc (MON / Ferrari) at 2,724

3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN / Mercedes) to 18,960

4. Sebastian Vettel (GER / Ferrari) at 19,610

5. Lewis Hamilton (GBR / Mercedes) to 22,805

6. Lando Norris (GBR / McLaren-Renault) 1 lap

7. Pierre Gasly (FRA / Red Bull-Honda) 1 lap

8. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP / McLaren-Renault) 1 lap

9. Kimi Räikkönen (FIN / Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari) 1 lap

10. Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA / Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari) 1 lap

11. Sergio Pérez (MEX / Racing Point-Mercedes) at 1 lap

12. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS / Renault) 1 lap

13. Nico Hülkenberg (GER / Renault) 1 lap

14. Lance Stroll (CAN / Racing Point-Mercedes) to 1 lap

15. Alexander Albon (THA / Toro Rosso-Honda) 1 lap

16. Romain Grosjean (FRA / Haas-Ferrari) 1 lap

17. Daniil Kvyat (RUS / Toro Rosso-Honda) 1 lap

18. George Russell (GBR / Williams-Mercedes) to 2 laps

19. Kevin Magnussen (DEN / Haas-Ferrari) to 2 laps

20. Robert Kubica (POL / Williams-Mercedes) to 3 laps

Best race lap: Max Verstappen (NED / Red Bull-Honda) 1: 07.475 on lap 60 (average: 230.378 km / h)

You can also read:  Hamilton predicts a "difficult" season for Ferrari and a "strong" Rosberg

– Classification of the Formula 1 World Cup, after the Austrian Grand Prix, the ninth round of the season, this Sunday at Spielberg:

– Driver classification:

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 197 points

2. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 166

3. Max Verstappen (NED) 126

4. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 123

5. Charles Leclerc (MON) 105

6. Pierre Gasly (FRA) 43

7. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) 30

8. Lando Norris (GBR) 22

9. Kimi Räikkönen (FIN) 21

10. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) 16

11. Nico Hülkenberg (GER) 16

12. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) 14

13. Sergio Pérez (MEX) 13

14. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) 10

15. Alexander Albon (THA) 7

16. Lance Stroll (CAN) 6

17. Romain Grosjean (FRA) 2

18. Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA) 1

– Classification of constructors:

1. Mercedes 363 points

2. Ferrari 228

3. Red Bull-Honda 169

4. McLaren-Renault 52

5. Renault 32

6. Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari 22

7. Racing Point-Mercedes 19

8. Toro Rosso-Honda 17

9. Haas-Ferrari 16. AFP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 + 3 =