Follow Us

Max Verstappen wins at home and regains lead in Formula One

Max Verstappen wins at home and regains lead in Formula One

The Dutch Max Verstappen (Red Bull) took, ahead of Lewis Hamilton, ‘his’ Grand Prix of the Netherlands, this Sunday, and regained the leadership of the Formula 1 World Championship, with three points of advantage over the British Mercedes.
Third place in the 13th race of the season, on a sunny day and in front of 70,000 spectators at the Zandvoort circuit, went to Finn Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes).
Frenchman Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) finished fourth and Monegasque Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) fifth in a relatively slow race, as expected on a track where overtaking is very difficult.
The Spanish Fernando Alonso (Alpine) and Carlos Sainz Jr (Ferrari), the Mexican Sergio ‘Checo’ Pérez (Red Bull), who started from the pit lane, the French Esteban Ocon (Alpine) and the British Lando Norris (McLaren ) completed the top 10.
Hamilton took the point for signing the fastest lap, which could be crucial if the title fight continues just as tight.
In the record of the Dutch GP, Verstappen, who started from pole ahead of the two Mercedes, succeeds Austrian Niki Lauda, ​​winner in the last edition in 1985.
He highlighted the presence of the Polish Robert Kubica (15th) in the Alfa Romeo car usually occupied by the Finn Kimi Räikkönen, who tested positive for covid-19 on the night from Friday to Saturday.
The campaign continues with a third race in three weeks next weekend at Monza in Italy.

You can also read:  Kubica to drive the Renault RS17 in the Hungarian test

– Classification of the F1 Netherlands Grand Prix:

1. Max Verstappen (NED / Red Bull-Honda) the 306.587 km in 1 h 30: 05.395 (average: 204.187 km / h)

2. Lewis Hamilton (GBR / Mercedes) to 20,932

3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN / Mercedes) to 56,460

4. Pierre Gasly (FRA / AlphaTauri-Honda) 1 lap

5. Charles Leclerc (MON / Ferrari) 1 lap

6. Fernando Alonso (ESP / Alpine-Renault) 1 lap

7. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP / Ferrari) 1 lap

8. Sergio Pérez (MEX / Red Bull-Honda) at 1 lap

9. Esteban Ocon (FRA / Alpine-Renault) 1 lap

10. Lando Norris (GBR / McLaren-Mercedes) 1 lap

11. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS / McLaren-Mercedes) 1 lap

12. Lance Stroll (CAN / Aston Martin-Mercedes) to 2 laps

13. Sebastian Vettel (GER / Aston Martin-Mercedes) to 2 laps

You can also read:  The Spanish pilot Jorge Martín is operated successfully

14. Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA / Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) to 2 laps

15. Robert Kubica (POL / Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) to 2 laps

16. Nicholas Latifi (CAN / Williams-Mercedes) to 2 laps

17. George Russell (GBR / Williams-Mercedes) to 3 laps

18. Mick Schumacher (GER / Haas-Ferrari) to 3 laps

Best lap in the race: Lewis Hamilton (GBR / Mercedes) 1: 11.097 on lap 72 (average: 215.654 km / h)


Nikita Mazepin (RUS / Haas-Ferrari): mechanical problem, lap 41

Yuki Tsunoda (JPN / AlphaTauri-Honda): mechanical problem, lap 48

George Russell (GBR / Williams): mechanical problem, 70th lap (qualified)

– General classification of pilots:

1. Max Verstappen (NED) 224.5 pts

2. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 221.5

3. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 123

4. Lando Norris (GBR) 114

5. Sergio Pérez (MEX) 108

6. Charles Leclerc (MON) 92

7. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) 89.5

8. Pierre Gasly (FRA) 66

You can also read:  George Russell to join Force India in Brazil and Abu Dhabi

9. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) 56

10. Fernando Alonso (ESP) 46

11. Esteban Ocon (FRA) 44

12. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 35

13. Yuki Tsunoda (JPN) 18

14. Lance Stroll (CAN) 18

15. George Russell (GBR) 13

16. Nicholas Latifi (CAN) 7

17. Kimi Räikkönen (FIN) 2

18. Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA) 1

19. Mick Schumacher (GER) 0

20. Nikita Mazepin (RUS) 0

21. Robert Kubica (POL) 0

– General classification of constructors:

1. Mercedes 344.5 pts

2. Red Bull-Honda 332.5

3. Ferrari 181.5

4. McLaren-Mercedes 170

5. Alpine-Renault 90

6. AlphaTauri-Honda 84

7. Aston Martin-Mercedes 53

8. Williams-Mercedes 20

9. Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari 3

10. Haas-Ferrari 0

NOTE: at the Belgian Grand Prix, only half of the points set for the top ten were awarded, as the race was cut short due to rain. The regulation establishes that if 75% of the initial route has not been covered, only half of the points at stake are distributed.(AFP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 8 = 2