Follow Us

Monterrey beat America and is champion of the 2021 Concacaf Champions League

Monterrey beat America and is champion of the 2021 Concacaf Champions League

Monterrey de México became champion of the 2021 Concacaf Champions League by defeating America’s also Mexican 1-0 in the final played at the BBVA stadium and thus also qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup .

The Argentine Rogelio Funes Mori, at minute 9, scored the goal for the victory and the coronation of the ‘Rayados’ of Monterrey by the Mexican technical director Javier Aguirre.

The ‘Rayados’ imposed conditions at the start of the match. At minute 3, Carlos Rodríguez had the first opportunity with a header that went over the crossbar.

At 5, goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa saved America’s ‘Águilas’ by stopping a dangerous shot from the twin Funes Mori.

But the 1-0 would not be long in coming; At the 9th, the Uruguayan defender Sebastián Cáceres sliced ​​a low cross from Jesús Gallardo and left the ball served in the small area for Funes Mori to reach the goal in the American goal.

You can also read:  Barcelona-Real Madrid in the semifinals of the 2022 Super Cup

Funes Mori was out of place at the time of Gallardo’s assist, but after the VAR review the referee determined that the involuntary pass from the Uruguayan defender enabled the Argentine forward and confirmed the goal.

As the minutes passed, America settled better on the field and had its best and only approach from the first half to 36 on a stopped ball. Paraguayan Richard Sánchez took a free kick that demanded the deflection of Argentine goalkeeper Estaban Andrada.

Already in the second half, at 60, Argentine Maximiliano Meza forgave América by connecting a direct header to Ochoa’s hands when he had time to control the ball and finish off with his leg as he had no mark on top.

Ochoa providentially protected the ‘Eagles’ at 65, when he launched himself for a ball he was threatening towards his goal.

At 81, America was saved from the second goal. Dutchman Vincent Janssen took goalkeeper Ochoa out and touched the ball with an open and unprotected goal, but Cáceres arrived with speed to clear almost over the goal line.

You can also read:  Alex López will have a new coach in the Alajuelense Sports League

The ‘Águilas’ had few opportunities to equalize and Monterrey was close to liquidating with a second goal, but Gallardo and Meza sent off deflected shots with the front goal.

The end of the match was dramatic. In the last attack play by América, at 90 + 10, the Uruguayan Federico Viñas sent a shot to the crossbar. The ‘Eagles’ claimed a penalty on the rebound for an alleged hand that the referee ruled out after the VAR review.

In this way, Monterrey achieved its fifth title as Concacaf club champion to add it to those it achieved in the 2010-2011, 2011-2012, 2012-2013 and 2019 editions.

America lost a Concacaf club final for the first time after winning their previous seven. (AFP)

2021 Concacaf Champions League – Final
Monterrey – America 1 – 0 (1-0)
BBVA (Nuevo Leon)
Referee: Fernando Hernández (Mexico)

You can also read:  Lewandowski, a goal machine aiming for the Ballon d'Or


Monterrey: Rogelio Funes Mori (9)

Celso Ortiz (39), Stefan Medina (90 + 10)
America: Sebastián Cáceres (21), Salvador Reyes (59), Roger Martínez (68), Jorge Sánchez (90 + 10)

Esteban Andrada – Stefan Medina, César Montes, Sebastián Vegas, Héctor Moreno, Jesús Gallardo, Celso Ortiz (Matías Krnevitter 71), Carlos Rodríguez, Alfonso González (Erick Aguirre 90), Maximiliano Meza, Rogelio Funes Mori (Vincent Janssen 75). DT. Javier Aguirre.

America: Guillermo Ochoa – Jorge Sánchez, Sebastián Cáceres, Bruno Valdez, Luis Fuentes (Sebastián Córdova 54), Mario Osuna (Nicolás Benedetti 67), Richard Sánchez (Antonio López 67), Álvaro Fidalgo, Salvador Reyes, Henry Martín, Roger Martínez (Federico Viñas 81). DT: Santiago Solari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

48 + = 51