Follow Us

Nine of the rebel Super League clubs rejoin the ECA

Nine of the rebel Super League clubs rejoin the ECA

Nine of the twelve football clubs that tried to launch a Super League in the spring to compete with the Champions League have rejoined the European Club Association (ECA), the body announced, a move that FC Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid and Juventus have not made.

This decision affects the six English clubs (Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham), two Italians (Inter and AC Milan) and Atlético de Madrid.

“The ECA executive committee took into consideration that these clubs recognized that the Superliga project was not in the interests of the football community,” as well as their decision “to completely abandon the project,” explained the institution in a body.

You can also read:  Messi paid 370 million euros in taxes in Spain

Barça, Real and Juve, the most passionate defenders of this new competition model, a practically closed league with the biggest European teams, continue to face UEFA, and left the ECA in spring, now led by Nasser Al Khelaifi, president of Paris. Saint-Germain.

After initiating a disciplinary process at the end of May to issue sanctions against these three promoters of the project, UEFA suspended their process “until further notice”, while Barça, Madrid and Juve brought the case to justice.

As for the other nine rebels, they quickly gave up and reached an agreement with UEFA, agreeing to a series of “reintegration measures”, mainly financial. AFP (HN)

You can also read:  Nike broke up with Neymar after complaint of sexual assault on an employee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 56 = 63