Follow Us

Novenas are reinforced with pitchers in search of the LVBP title

Novenas are reinforced with pitchers in search of the LVBP title

The six teams classified for the postseason of the Venezuelan Professional Baseball League (LVBP) were reinforced today with pitchers, in search of a title that will grant them a ticket to the next Caribbean Series to be played in Mexico in February of next year.

The Cardinals, top contenders after exhibiting the best offense of the regular round, added right-hander Junior Guerra, who posted a 3-2 record with a 2.98 ERA in eight starts with the eliminated La Guaira Sharks.

At the same time, the red birds removed right-hander José Cisneros from their squad and replaced him with fellow right-hander Scott Maine, from the discarded Margarita Braves.

You can also read:  President of the Cuban Baseball Federation died of Covid-19

The Navegantes del Magallanes chose in the addition round the pitcher Omar Bencomo Jr, of the Braves, while in the substitution they opted for the Puerto Rican right-hander Jonathan Albadeljo, of the Sharks, who will occupy the place left empty by the Cuban slugger Adonis Garcia.

Meanwhile, the Caracas Lions added left-handed pitcher Logan Darnell (Braves) and replaced outfielder Anthony Garcia with right-handed reliever Gregory Infante of the Sharks.

The Aragua Tigers added American reliever Dustin Antonlin of the Sharks and removed southpaw Alberto Baldonado from their squad to bring in Rafael Cova, also of the Sharks.

Caribes de Anzoátegui took infielder Luis Sardiñas, from La Guaira, in the first round, and right-handed pitcher Carlos Navas, from Bravos, in the second.

You can also read:  José Fernández's ashes were thrown into the sea at the place where he died

The Eagles of Zulia, who complete the guest list for the “January party,” added solvent American hitter Cade Gotta, from the Braves, and replaced Dominican Edgar de la Rosa with Henderson Álvarez, right-hander for the Sharks.

The LVBP postseason will begin on January 2, with the best-of-seven series between the Cardinals – Eagles, Magellan – Caribs and Lions – Tigers.

The fourth semifinalist will emerge from a wild-card series between the two postseason losers with the best records in the regular round. EFE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

34 − 32 =