Follow Us

Suárez and Cavani called to confront Colombia, Brazil and Argentina

Suárez and Cavani called to confront Colombia, Brazil and Argentina

Forwards Luis Suárez and Edinson Cavani stand out in Uruguay’s call-up for the three World Cup qualifying matches that will play on October 7, 10 and 13 against the teams of Colombia, Brazil and Argentina.

Both players missed the last three games in September. Despite these losses, La Celeste obtained seven of the nine points in dispute.

Those of Óscar Washington Tabárez will be measured in October with Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador.

Suárez, an Atlético de Madrid forward, was injured, and Manchester United’s Cavani was not called up by Tabárez due to a “sports strategy,” according to the coach at the time.

You can also read:  Haaland's hat-trick against Gibraltar

In case of traveling, Cavani had to carry out a quarantine when returning to England, something that for the Uruguayan coach was going to make him isolate himself from his team and lose his form.

Like the aforementioned strikers, other players who return to the squad are Sebastián Coates and Darwin Núñez, who is going through a great moment.

Days ago, with two goals, the forward was the star in Benfica’s 3-0 victory over Barcelona in the UEFA Champions League.

Meanwhile, goalkeeper Sergio Rochet, full-back Giovanni González, midfielder Facundo Torres and striker Agustín Álvarez Martínez are those called up from the local environment.

You can also read:  Carvajal undergoes an MRI and uses his right to privacy

The next triple matchday, Uruguay will begin by facing Colombia on October 7 in the Great Central Park of Montevideo. Then, the celestial will visit Argentina and Brazil on October 10 and 14, respectively.

– List of footballers summoned by Tabárez:

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galastasaray-TUR) and Martín Campaña (Al Batin-KSA), Sergio Rochet (National).

Defenses: Diego Godín (Cagliari-ITA), José María Giménez (Atlético de Madrid-ESP), Sebastián Coates (Sporting de Lisboa-POR), Joaquín Piquerez (Palmeiras-BRA), Ronald Araújo (Barcelona-ESP), Matías Viña (Palmeiras -BRA), Martín Cáceres (Fiorentina-ITA) and Giovanni González (Peñarol).

Midfielders: Nahitan Nández (Cagliari-ITA), Lucas Torreira (Fiorentina-ITA), Rodrigo Bentancur (Juventus-ITA), Matías Vecino (Inter-ITA), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid-ESP), Fernando Gorriarán (Santos Laguna-MEX) , Nicolás de la Cruz (River Plate-ARG), Facundo Torres (Peñarol) and Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Flamengo-BRA).

You can also read:  Luuk de Jong will miss the rest of the European Championship due to injury

Forwards: Brian Rodríguez (Los Angeles-USA), Luis Suárez (Atlético de Madrid-ESP), Gastón Pereiro (Cagliari-ITA), Darwin Núñez (Benfica-POR), Edinson Cavani (Manchester United-GBR) and Agustín Álvarez Martínez (Peñarol ). EFE (HN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

30 + = 33