Follow Us

The Laureus, 20 years of awards for the best of world sport

The Laureus, 20 years of awards for the best of world sport

The Laureus celebrates twenty years consecrated as the most relevant awards in international sport, as evidenced by the list of those who have won them since its first edition in 2000.

A man has reigned more times than anyone, the Swiss tennis player Roger Federer. Five times chosen as the best international male athlete of the year ‘, four of them in a row, he also treasures the recognition for the best comeback.

They are followed in the first of the categories by the Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt and the Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic with four. The list of those who have more than one title is completed by Michael Schumacher and Tiger Woods, who in the 2020 edition to be held on February 17 in Berlin aspires to the third.

You can also read:  VIDEO: Ana Ivanovic, the sexiest tennis player of the year

With regard to females, the main dominator is the American tennis player Serena Williams with four winches as the best athlete of the year and another in the comeback section. In addition, the Russian jumper Yelena Isinbayeva and the American gymnast Simone Biles with two have also been recognized as the most outstanding of the course on more than one occasion, although in Germany the latter opts to add another one.

On the other hand, in teams only one has been able to repeat to date. It is about the French soccer team, which won the statuette in 2001 and 2019. That could change in Berlin since the South African national rugby team, already with one, is nominated for another.

You can also read:  Roger Federer accepts his new status

He can also boast of having been multi-awarded in the category of athletes with disabilities by Brazilian swimmer Daniel Dias, as he received the trophy three times, both from Esther Vergeer.

Regarding the recognition of the best action athlete of the year, no one can come close to the records of the prestigious American surfer Kelly Slater at the moment, as he counts up to a total of four.

There are also those who have succeeded in more than one occasion but in different aspects. This is the case, for example, of Rafa Nadal. The Spaniard has done it up to three times, one being the best athlete -to which he will apply again in 2020-, another the revelation and one more the reappearance. His compatriot Sergio García has also conquered the last two.

You can also read:  Andy Murray resigns to play his last match in British exhibition tournament

However, the list of names that have obtained a Laureus does not stop there. The skier Lindsey Vonn, the pilot Sebastian Vettel, the swimmer Missy Franklin, the athlete Genzebe Dibaba, the basketball player Yao Ming, the golfer Rory McIlroy, the tennis player Andy Murray, the soccer player Ronaldo Nazario individually or Manchester United and the The Brazilian, German and Spanish soccer teams have collectively contributed to give luster to those who are already known as the ‘Oscars’ of sport. EFEFederr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 29 = 34