Follow Us

USA dominates WBC rankings with seven champions in October

USA dominates WBC rankings with seven champions in October

The World Boxing Council (WBC), based in this capital, registered seven United States champions who stand out among its 17 divisions in its October rankings, while Mexico has three monarchs and Japan and Thailand, two each.

Deontay Wilder, in the heavyweight division; David Benavidez in super medium; Jermell Cahrlo in super middleweight; Keith Thurman at welterweight; Terence Crawford in super lightweight; Mikey Garcia in lightweight and Gary Russell Jr. in featherweight are the seven American Union champions

On this occasion, the WBC did not award boxer of the month awards or honorable mention due to the celebration of its 55th convention in Baku, Azerbaijan.

– Classifications:

– Full weight:

Champion: Deontay Wilder (USA)

. Challengers:

.one. Bermane Stiverne (CAN)

.two. Luis Ortiz (CUB)

.3. Dillian Whyte (JAM)

.4. Andy Ruiz (MEX)

.5. Carlos TaKam (CAM)

– Cruiser Weight (90,719 KG)

. Champion: Mairis Briedis (LAT)

. Challengers:

.one. Krzysztof Glowacki (POL)

.two. Krzysztof Wlodarczyk (POL)

.3. Andrew Tabiti (USA)

.4. Maxim Vlasov (RUS).

You can also read:  Conor McGregor wants to fight Pacquiao in case of not accepting Floyd Mayweather

.5. Kevin Lerena (RSA)

– Semi-Complete Weight (79,379 KG)

. Champion: Adonis Stevenson (CAN)

. Challengers:

.one. Eleider Alvarez (COL)

.two. Oleksandr Gvozdyk (UKR)

.3. Sullivan Barrera (CUB)

.4. Marcus Browne (USA)

.5. Sergey Kovalev (RUS)

– Super Medium Weight (76,204 KG)

. Champion: David Benavidez

. Challengers:

.one. Callum Smith (GBR)

.two. Anthony Dirrell (USA)

.3. Avni Yildirim (TUR)

.4. Chris Eubank Jr. (GBR)

.5. Jessie Hart (USA)

– Medium Weight (72,575 kilograms)

. Champion: Gennady Golovkin (KAZ)

. Challengers:

.one. Jermall Charlo (USA)

.two. Saúl Álvarez (MEX)

.3. Daniel Jacobs (USA)

.4. David Lemieux (CAN)

.5. Hugo Centeno Jr. (USA)

– Superwelterweight (69,853 kilograms)

. Champion: Jermell Charlo (USA)

. Challengers:

.one. Erickson Lubin (USA)

.two. Cedric Vitu (FRA)

.3. Vanes Martirosyan (ARM)

.4. Maciej Sulecki (POL)

.5. Jack Culcay (GER)

– Welterweight (66,678 kilograms)

. Champion: Keith Thurman (USA)

. Challengers:

.one. Shawn Porter (USA)

.two. Danny Garcia (USA)

.3. Manny Pacquiao (Phil)

.4. Jessie Vargas (USA)

You can also read:  Mayweather-McGregor fight remains unsold and organizers fear

.5. Diego Chaves (ARG)

– Superlight Weight (63,503 kilograms)

. Champion: Terence Crawford (USA)

. Challengers:

.one. Amir Imam (USA)

.two. Regis Prograis (USA)

.3. José Carlos Ramírez (USA).

.4. Viktor Postol (UKR)

.5. Omar Figueroa (USA)

– Lightweight (61,235 kilograms)

. Champion: Mikey García (USA)

. Challengers:

.one. Ray Beltran (MEX)

.two. Javier Fortuna (DOM)

.3. Yvan Mendy (FRA)

.4. Luke Campbell (GB).

.5. Gervonta Davis (USA)

– Super featherweight (58,967 kilograms)

. Champion: Miguel Berchelt (MEX)

. Challengers:

.one. Orlando Salido (MEX)

.two. Francisco Vargas (MEX)

.3. Jhonny González (MEX)

.4. Cristian Mijares (MEX)

.5. Miguel Roman (MEX)

– Featherweight (57,153 KG)

. Champion: Gary Russell Jr. (USA)

. Challengers:

.one. Joseph Diaz (USA)

.two. Carl Frampton (GBR)

.3. Scott Quigg (GBR)

.4. Nonito Donaire (PHI)

.5. Jorge Lara (MEX)

– Super Bantamweight (55,338)

. Champion: Rey Vargas (MEX)

. Challengers:

.one. Julio Ceja (MEX)

.two. Diego de la Hoya (MEX)

.3. Hugo Ruiz (MEX)

.4. Abigail Medina (ESP)

.5. Tomoki Kameda (JPN)

You can also read:  Conor McGregor responded loud and clear to Floyd Mayweather

– Bantamweight: (53,524 kilograms)

. Champion: Luis Nery (MEX)

. Challengers:

.one. Shinsuke Yamanaka (JPN)

.two. Emmanuel Rodríguez (PUR)

.3. Petch Sr. Chitpattana (TAI)

.4. Juan Carlos Payano (DOM)

.5. Mark John Yap (PHI)

– Super flyweight (52,163 kilograms)

. Champion: Srisaket Sor Rungvisai (THA)

. Challengers:

.one. Juan Francisco Estrada (MEX)

.two. Carlos Cuadras (MEX)

.3. Roman González (NIC)

.4. Koki Eto (JPN)

.5. Jonas Sultan (PHI)

– Flyweight (50,802 kilograms)

. Champion: Daigo Higa (JPN)

. Challengers:

.one. Muhammad Waseem (PAK)

.two. Francisco Rodríguez (MEX)

.3. Andrew Selby (GB)

.4. Brian Viloria (USA)

.5. Thomas Masson (FRA)

– Light flyweight (48,988 kilograms)

Champion: Ken Shiro (MEX)

. Challengers:

.one. Pedro Guevara (MEX)

.two. Ganigan Lopez (MEX)

.3. Jonathan Inguito (PHI)

.4. Felix Alvarado (NCA)

.5. Hekkie Budler (RSA)

– Minimum Weight (47,627 kilograms)

Champion: Wanheng Menayothin (THA)

.one. Leroy Estrada (PAN)

.two. Byron Rojas (NCA)

.3. Ryuji Hara (JPN).

.4. Simphiwe Khonco (RSA).

.5. Abraham Rodríguez (MEX) .EFE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 31 = 36