Follow Us

Djokovic and Medvedev lead those called up for the Davis Cup final phase

Djokovic and Medvedev lead those called up for the Davis Cup final phase

Novak Djokovic (world number one) with Serbia and Daniil Medvedev (number two in the ATP ranking) with Russia are presented as the main figures of the Davis Cup of tennis, after the national lists announced this Monday.

The competition is played between Madrid, Innsbruck (Austria) and Turin (Italy).

The main absences include the Spanish Rafa Nadal, who ended his season in August due to problems in his left foot, and the German Alexander Zverev, Olympic champion this year.

With four players in the ‘Top 30’, including Medvedev (recent winner of the US Open), Russia looks especially strong.

The solidity of the national team and Italy also stands out, with a quintet made up of Matteo Berrettini, Jannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini and Lorenzo Musetti.

You can also read:  Serena Williams will be out in Indian Wells and Miami

– Group A:

Spain: Pablo Carreño, Roberto Bautista, Carlos Alcaraz, Feliciano López, Marcel Granollers

Russia: Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Karen Khachanov, Evgeny Donskoy

Ecuador: Emilio Gómez, Roberto Quiroz, Diego Hidalgo, Gonzalo Escobar, Antonio Cayetano March

– B Group:

Canada: Félix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Vasek Pospisil, Brayden Schnur, Peter Polansky

Kazakhstan: Alexander Bublik, Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Aleksandr Nedovyesov, Andrey Golubev

Sweden: Mikael Ymer, Elias Ymer, Jonathan Mridha, Andre Göransson

– Group C:

France: Ugo Humbert, Arthur Rinderknech, Richard Gasquet, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas Mahut

Great Britain: Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans, Joe Salisbury, Neal Skupski

Czech Republic: Jiri Vesely, Tomas Machac, Zdenek Kolar, Jiri Lehecka, Lukas Rosol

You can also read:  Nadal: "This year my injury has been mental"

– Group D:

Croatia: Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Borna Gojo, Nikola Mektic, Mate Pavic

Australia: Alex de Minaur, John Millman, Jordan Thompson, Alexei Popyrin, John Peers

Hungary: Marton Fucsovics, Attila Balazs, Zsombor Piros, Fabian Marozsan, Mate Valkusz

– Group E:

United States: John Isner, Reilly Opelka, Taylor Fritz, Rajeev Ram, Jack Sock

Italy: Matteo Berrettini, Jannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini, Lorenzo Musetti

Colombia: Daniel Elahi Galán, Nicolás Mejía, Juan Sebastián Cabal, Robert Farah

– Group F:

Serbia: Novak Djokovic, Filip Krajinovic, Dusan Lajovic, Laslo Djere, Miomir Kecmanovic

Germany: Jan-Lennard Struff, Dominik Koepfer, Peter Gojowczyk, Kevin Krawietz, Tim Puetz

Austria: Dennis Novak, Jurij Rodionov, Gerald Melzer, Oliver Marach, Philipp Oswald. AFP (HN)

You can also read:  Murray and Kohlschreiber will fight for the title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 7 = 1